Home Environment

circle of life

Home is where the heart is.

Home is where you hang your hat.

Home sweet home.

There’s no place like home.

How do you feel about your home?

Try something.  The next time you’re going to be heading out for several hours leave a pen and paper by the front door.  When you walk in stop a moment.  Close your eyes and smell the air.  What does your home smell like?  Is it pleasing?  What do you hear when you walk in?  Are there dogs barking? Kids playing? The hum of the AC?  What do you see?  Is it clean?  Is there clutter?  Do you have things that show the love in your home easily in view?  How do you feel?  Is your home inviting?  Does it make you feel relaxed?  Is it your sanctuary?  Write all that you discover down.  On the other side of the paper, write what you want your home to feel like.  What sensations do you want to experience when you walk in the door?  How do you want others to see your home?  What impressions do you want your home to give?  Make sure that these ideas are inline with functionality.  I have 4 kids and I’m very happy with my home looking lived in and I have dogs and cats and I’ve accepted that unless I want to mask it with artificial smells, my home is going to have a “unique” smell.  What’s important to me is that things don’t look cluttered or dingy and that my home has a relaxing feel.  I want to come home, take a deep breath, and let everything go for the day.  You may have completely different ideas for your home.

Once you know where you’re at and where you want to be, rate it.  10 being you love your home exactly the way it is.  1 being there’s almost nothing you love about your home.  I’ll be honest, I was a 2 or 3 before I moved recently and it was horrible.  I never cooked, never had people over, I hated being home.  It weighed on me heavily and literally added to my weight.  Your home is very important, do not overlook this simple and often abused area of your life.

Circle of Life     Spirituality     Relationships     Career     Education     Finances     Nutrition

Physical Activity     Social Life     Home Environment     Creativity     Health     Joy

Published by

The Last 100 lbs I'll Ever Lose

I am an LMT and a Health and Fitness Coach. I have 5 children. I've been overweight most of my adult life and am using my journey to help inspire others to take back their lives.

12 thoughts on “Home Environment”

Leave a Reply

