Health

circle of life

After you read this sentence I want you to close your eyes and see how you feel; check in with your emotions, how is your mental state, what does your body feel like?

That’s your health.  It’s not some magical number on a scale or being in the “normal” range on all your lab work.  It’s not how few sick days you’ve taken, or how well you can work through feeling crappy.  Your health is about how you feel.

Obviously your doctor for the most part would disagree with me, and that’s ok.  When you’re with your doctor, talk about the other kind of health, when you’re with me, tell me how you feel.

All those numbers and tests are gauges to your health, though.  It’s true if your numbers are in line most of the time you’re going to feel healthy.  Not always though.  Since I’m a believer that life is meant to be lived and experienced and I feel like you can only really do that with your full heart if you feel healthy, then that’s what we’re going to talk about.

So what would be a 10 in health?  What quality of sleep do you want to get?  How energized throughout the day do you want to be?  How do you want your body to feel?  What is the best form of mental being you can be?  Do you feel your emotions, respond appropriately, and accept them for what they are?  (Emotions are important and should never be stuffed!)

Being healthy isn’t about always being happy.  It’s about having the ability to experience life fully without restrictions from your mind, emotional state, or body.  If you don’t allow yourself to fully feel your anger then you can’t process and work through situations and will get stuck in relationships.  If you don’t nourish your body properly it won’t function properly and you’ll not be able to perform tasks to get you through the day.  Without a good amount of sunlight, proper nutrition, hydration, and physical activity your mind will get sluggish or foggy and keep you from reaching your potential.

Your state of being healthy will be different from everyone else’s.  If you’re a diabetic it doesn’t discount you from reaching a 10 in this section.  As long as you take care of your situation and it only limits you the way it’s expected to limit you, then you’re golden.  If you have a mental disorder, we’ll take mine for example, I have Borderline Personality Disorder.  There are days (sometimes weeks and months) where I suffer anxiety, depression, withdraw, etc and I don’t feel well.  I would look at how am I treating myself?  Typically my symptoms are very manageable as long as I’m taking care of myself and doing the extra things that need to be done to manage my condition.  When I slip into a spot where my “normal” functioning isn’t optimal, I have to evaluate my health (how I feel) and determine what I’m not doing.  Sometimes, it’s just my BPD and I keep working through it.  My 10 varies from day to day on what’s included in it based off of what is possible for me to attain for that day.

Determine your 10 and figure out where you are today, right now.  This is a section that can evaluated frequently and works well with a personal journal.

Please message me with any questions if you are stuck in figuring out your special circumstances.  I’d be happy help.

Circle of Life     Spirituality     Relationships     Career     Education     Finances     Nutrition

Physical Activity     Social Life     Home Environment     Creativity     Health     Joy

Published by

The Last 100 lbs I'll Ever Lose

I am an LMT and a Health and Fitness Coach. I have 5 children. I've been overweight most of my adult life and am using my journey to help inspire others to take back their lives.

12 thoughts on “Health”

Leave a Reply

