What’s a Health Coach?

love-yourself-poster

So you’ve heard about coaches.  There’s life coaches, business coaches, legal coaches, health coaches, and many other coaches.  Basically anything that you could need help for, there’s a coach for.  Why?  What’s so special about having a coach.  Why are people willing to spend money to have some one “coach” them?

It’s simple really: life isn’t simple, having someone in your corner helping to guide you and keep you on track frees up your mind and reduces stress.  It helps give you your life back.  If you have a question, ask your coach.  If you’re feeling like you just “can’t” anymore, call your coach.  Lost on where to go, don’t even know which questions you should be asking?  Hire a coach.

What’s special about health coaches?  Health coaches in particular are there to help you balance your life, reach your goals, and take care of your body so that you’re able to accomplish what you set out to do.  Everyone’s circumstances are different, it’s hard to get what you need from a book when it comes to your health.  Even if you don’t have a “disease” you had an upbringing that created tendencies that you have to work with and possibly change.  Your coach can help guide you there.

Why am I special?  🙂

I primarily work with people who have around 100 lbs or more to lose.  Not only have I personally lost 100 lbs, but I’ve also gained it back and lost most of it and gained it back again, and again, and again.  I personally understand the struggle inside and out of depression, gaining weight while pregnant or after having a baby, of drug addiction, of living in an abusive relationship and using food to cope, and the physical pain that comes with carrying so much weight and the emotional pain of seeing yourself in the mirror every day.  I understand that everyone has come from a different background, that we all have different goals, but that with 100 lbs or more to lose, we are all going to have some significant common ground.

You can expect in a program with me that we will start where you are at right now.  That means that I’m not going to jump you into some pre-made mold of where I think you should be or are capable of being.  Determining where you are is always our first objective.  Next, we’re only going to work on where you want to go.  Again, there is no one size fits all mold of what health should look like for everyone.  Yes, I know that contradicts most likely every doctor you’ve ever talked to.  It’s the truth though.  We all have some things we can overcome, others we just need to accept, and different ideas of what “good” feels like.  So our second objective is to figure out where you want to go.  Then we’ll create a plan with small but significant steps to get you from where you are to where you want to be naturally.  That means that how we progress is determined by what will actually work for YOU.  Again, no pre-made program that I use for everyone.  What motivates you might not motivate anyone else.  I won’t know all this until we figure out how you work.  What are your intrinsic and external motivation factors?  What are your triggers?  What are some things you are not willing to give up? (Don’t even think of telling me I can’t have my cup of coffee in the morning!)  So, in essence, every step is determined by you.  I’ll educate, guide, and help motivate, but you are the one who will be making progress, you are the one who will have a better understand of yourself, and you are the one who becomes the person you’ve always wanted to be.  Since it all stems from you, it will last.  They are YOUR changes, YOUR new habits, YOUR new life!

I can’t wait to work with you!  Visit me on Facebook and send me a message to set up your no cost one hour health coaching session.  Find out for yourself with no obligation what a difference it can make having a coach in your corner!

Published by

The Last 100 lbs I'll Ever Lose

I am an LMT and a Health and Fitness Coach. I have 5 children. I've been overweight most of my adult life and am using my journey to help inspire others to take back their lives.

Leave a Reply

