Step 1. Connect to Your Tribe

Family, friends, co-workers, whatever you want to include in your definition of your tribe, we all have one.  (Sometimes our tribe is just the people we know online too!)  Our level of connection; however, is another story.  Some of us have at least a couple of people we feel very close to, others have many many people!  Some; however, have people they know and enjoy being around but don’t really feel close to anyone.  No matter your feelings of intimacy, it’s important to make connections with your tribe.

What, exactly, do I mean by that?

We connect over our similarities and our differences.  When you are about to embark on your goals, it’s important to know who you can get excited with, who will understand your struggles, and who really doesn’t care or doesn’t understand.

For example: a situation where I felt like a horrible friend because I was trying to be apart of a friend’s tribe where I didn’t fit in.  She was trying to use me for support for a situation that I really didn’t understand.  It made me uncomfortable to talk about it and it was all she would talk about because it was a major life change.  Eventually I stopped answering phone calls and we drifted apart.  It broke my heart to lose her as a close friend and we’ve never been able to fully reconnect.

If your current tribe isn’t jiving with your goals then it’s time to find one that will!  Join a Facebook group, a meetup, or start a group of your own!  To stay motivated with your goals you should be able to freely talk about them, share your successes, and get support during your challenges.

For people  who have 100 lbs or more to lose I have a meetup group called The Last 100 lbs I’ll Ever Lose for Phoenix, AZ.  I also have a Facebook page and a Facebook group.  Come join my tribe!  We’d be excited to have you there!

Published by

The Last 100 lbs I'll Ever Lose

I am an LMT and a Health and Fitness Coach. I have 5 children. I've been overweight most of my adult life and am using my journey to help inspire others to take back their lives.

Leave a Reply

